Rhode Island Logo

Back

How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Rhode Island

By Elizabeth R. Elstien

So you want to become a real estate agent in the state of Rhode Island? Similar to Indiana Jones giving archaeology an exotic adventurous feel, which is not entirely true, most people have the wrong impression of real estate as a get-rich-quick occupation. In reality, real estate is a tough business where you have long and often irregular hours, can be on call to clients at any time and must wait weeks or months to close a sale and get paid with no assurance that the sale will actually close.

As far as starting a business is concerned, the capital needed is relatively small, but you will still need several thousand dollars to get licensed, start your independent business with a broker, join real estate association and start marketing yourself to potential home buyers or sellers. Then, it may take months until you get your first sale and the commission check that comes with it, so you must be financially stable with several months of savings to survive this time period.

Properly prepared in mind and finances, real estate can be a rewarding profession. After all, you will be helping people in your community. Just remember that you can't use the title "Realtor" unless you are a member of the Rhode Island Association of Realtors. View detailed information on licensing, laws, resources and employers with the Department of Business Regulation of the State of Rhode Island who administers the laws and protects the public.

Still want to get your real estate license? Here's what you need to do to legally become a real estate agent in Rhode Island and help others buy or sell homes.

  1. Be at least 18-years old.
  2. Take 45 hours of online or in-class real estate pre-licensing education from an approved real estate school.
  3. Pass both the national and state real estate licensing exams.
  4. Take the Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigations three-hour class and get a certificate.
  5. Obtain a Criminal History Record from the Bureau of Criminal Identification at the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General in person or by mail.
  6. Attain sponsorship from a licensed broker in the state of Rhode Island and be associated with the broker's office.
  7. Apply for your license, with the $50 license fee, within one year of passing the real estate examination.
Share this:

Comments

Leave a comment:

* Login in order to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join for Free



About The Author

Elizabeth R. Elstien has worked in real estate for over 15 years as a real estate...

View Profile

Become an Expert Contributor

Have some knowledge to share, and want easy and effective exposure to our audience? Get your articles or guides featured on Rhode Island Homes today! Learn more about being an expert contributor.

Learn More